Beautiful By: Christina Lauren

Beautiful

29432729

 

Ratings: 5 stars

Pages: 416 Pages

Book Format: Dual POVs

Published date: 4th Oct 2016

Amazon Buy

Another wonderful book by Christina Lauren. I wonder how they can write such amazing book one after another. I read all her Beautiful saga books and I am literally very very sad that the series has come to end. Why? Why would they do such cruel things and not write more?

This book have a new and refreshing couple – Jensen, Hanna’s brother and Pippa, Ruby’s best friend. Similarly, like all Christina Lauren books this book as well have casual sex in it, but it was far more entertaining than the rest. The text messages by Bennett was so much fun. Chloe being the saint and Sara being the monster. (You won’t understand it, if you haven’t read Beautiful Bastard and Beautiful Stranger.)

“Bennett just sent this to the group thread: ‘Chloe made me breakfast in bed. It’s two hours later and she hasn’t asked me to fix the garbage disposal yet. Do wives do this kind of thing out of . . . kindness? Please translate.’ ”

The first meeting of Jensen and Pippa was quite normal, like you will find in every other book. They were seat mates on the airplane flying to Boston. But rather than having mile high fun on plane, Jensen purposely ignored Pippa, and her rambling about her ex-boyfriend, Mark, and her moms.

Jensen, was a predictable guy. After getting divorce of four months of marriage, six years ago, he’s still not able to find anyone to date. First I thought he still had feelings for his wife. I mean come on, that’s why he was not able to move on, but the thing is better to be boring than to try something new and exciting. Pippa with her loud and carefree nature and vibrant colour clothes, she was not what Jensen wanted.

But Hanna had already planned a vacation where – Will and Hanna along with Ruby and Niall, were also taking workaholic Jensen and recent heartbroken Pippa.

The best scene I like about this book was the restaurant part, where Pippa and Jensen screams all their problems in pouring rain.

“Yell!”

He shook his head, not understanding.

“Say it!” I cried over the roar. “Say whatever it is that’s in your head this second. Whether it’s work, or life, or Becky, or me. Like this!” I sucked in a gulp of freezing air as words nearly burst from me. “I want to hate Mark, but I don’t! I hate that I fell so easily into a relationship that was just a pit stop for him, one that I saw as a possible forever! It never was, and I feel like a fool that I didn’t see it earlier!”

He stared at me for several breaths, water running down his face.

“I hate my job!” I yelled, fists at my sides. “I hate my flat, and my routine, and that it could go on like this forever and I might not have the courage to do anything about it! I hate that I’ve worked so hard but when I look around—compare my life to everyone else’s—it feels like such a small drop in such a massive bucket!”

He looked away, blinking past the fat drops of water on his lashes.

“Don’t make me feel foolish,” I said, reaching out to press my hand to his chest.

Just when I thought he was going to turn away and walk back to the restaurant, he tilted his head back, closed his eyes, and yelled over the roar of the sprinklers: “We might have had kids by now!”

Oh my God.

I nodded, encouraging. He looked back down to me, as if seeking affirmation, and his features changed when he let in the emotions: his expression grew tighter, eyes sharper, mouth a harsh line. “They’d be in school!” he said, wiping a hand down his face, momentarily clearing the water away. “They’d be playing soccer, and riding bikes!”

Things happen, small touches lead to something big and gradually they became something more entirely. In their vacation the entry of Becky, Jensen’s ex-wife was really what not expected.

The best thing which Christina Lauren gave us were the epilogues from the prior books. You will find the epilogues of Beautiful Player (Will and Hanna’s story), Beautiful Stranger (Max and Sara’s story) and Beautiful Bastard (Bennett and Chloe’s story)

Leave a Reply

